skip to Main Content
Stated meetings on the second Monday of each month at 7:00 PM | Dinners by reservation only | View Calendar

What is required in order to join the Scottish Rite?

To join the Scottish Rite you must:

  • be a Master Mason in good standing in a regular lodge
  • complete a petition and include the appropriate fee
  • attend a “Reunion” where the Scottish Rite Degrees are conferred

What if I am not already a Master Mason?

If You Are Not a Mason

Before you can join the Scottish Rite, you first must become a Master Mason in a Lodge under a Grand Lodge that belongs to the Conference of Grand Masters in North America (COGMINA) or to a Grand Lodge recognized by a COGMINA Grand Lodge.


18359267_1923426561269079_8026367730898800130_oBROTHERLY LOVE. RELIEF. TRUTH.
Not Just a Man. A Mason.

A Freemason is committed to bettering himself, his community, and the world. He is on a journey of self-discovery believing in something greater than himself, a journey in which he will be supported by other good men.

Become the best version of you.
Answer the call. Begin the journey.

For further information, contact the Medford Scottish Rite and we’ll assist you in finding the Masonic lodge nearest you.

If You Are a Blue Lodge Mason

If You Are a Blue Lodge Mason

Interested in Learning about More Light in Masonry?

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry is commonly known as the Scottish Rite. It is one of several groups that are part of the worldwide fraternity known as Freemasonry. The Scottish Rite is the largest and most widely practiced Masonic Rite in the world and employs a Lodge system.

It is our mission to improve its members and enhance the communities in which they live by teaching and emulating the principles of Brotherly Love, Tolerance, Charity, and Truth while actively embracing high social, moral, and spiritual values including fellowship, compassion, and dedication to God, family and country.

Master Mason's continued education

There is a lot More.

While there is no Masonic degree more important than that of Master Mason, there is a long tradition—almost as old as Freemasonry—of “high degrees” that expand upon and elaborate the teachings and lessons of the first three degrees. The Scottish Rite degrees teach a series of moral lessons culminating in the 32°, Master of the Royal Secret.

The Scottish Rite continues a Master Mason’s education in many ways:

  • 4°-32° Degree work
  • Speakers at meetings
  • Leadership conferences
  • Scottish Rite Journal
  • Publishing Masonic books
  • Scottish Rite Research Society

What are Supreme Council, Orients, and Valleys?

What are Supreme Council, Orients, and Valleys?

The governing body of the Scottish Rite is the Supreme Council. It is composed of active and deputy members of the 35 states and several overseas jurisdictions that make up the Southern Jurisdiction. Each state or jurisdiction that belongs to the Southern Jurisdiction is called an Orient. The local Scottish Rite body is called a Valley. Each Valley has up to four Scottish Rite bodies, and each body confers a set of degrees.In the Southern Jurisdiction these are:

• Lodge of Perfection (4°–14°)
• Chapter of Rose Croix (15°–18°)
• Council of Kadosh (19°–30°)
• Consistory (31°–32°)

The Supreme Council confers the 33rd Degree of  Inspector General Honorary.

Interested in becoming a Scottish Rite Mason?  Let us know;  Contact us at (541) 772-2205 or email at [email protected] and we will assist you.

Interested in becoming a Scottish Rite Mason?  Contact us at (541) 772-2205 or email us at [email protected] and we will assist you.

Back To Top