Square & Compass Square & Compass

Medford Valley of Scottish Rite
Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry

3581 Lear Way
Medford, Oregon 97502
(541) 772-2205

Stated Meetings on the second Monday of each month at 7:00 PM
Dinners on alternate weeks by reservation only. Check the calendar for dates.

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry is commonly known as the Scottish Rite. It is one of several appendant groups of the worldwide fraternity known as Freemasonry. Each Valley has up to four Scottish Rite bodies, and each body confers a set of degrees. In the Southern Jurisdiction these are the Lodge of Perfection (4° - 14°), Chapter of Rose Croix (15° - 18°), Council of Kadosh (19° - 30°), and the Consistory (31° - 32°). The Supreme Council confers the 33rd Degree of Sovereign Grand Inspector General.

The Scottish Rite is one of the two branches of Freemasonry in which a Master Mason may proceed after he has completed the three degrees of Symbolic or Blue Lodge Masonry. The other branch is known as the York Rite, consisting of Royal Arch Masons, Royal and Select Masters and the Knights Templar.

While there is no Masonic degree more important than that of Master Mason, there is a long tradition - almost as old as Freemasonry - of "high degrees" that expand upon and elaborate the teachings and lessons of the first three degrees. The Scottish Rite degrees teach a series of moral lessons culminating in the 32nd degree, Master of the Royal Secret.

The Oregon Valley serves the Rogue River and Illinois Valley as well as the Southern Coast of Oregon. Join us on the second Monday of each month for our Stated Meeting. All Sojourners and inactive members are encouraged to contact us.

The Scottish Rite Creed

Human Progress is our cause,
Liberty of Thought our supreme wish,
Freedom of Conscience our mission,
And the Guarantee of Equal Rights To all People everywhere our ultimate goal.

Page created by: Rogue Valley Webmaster
Changes last made on: August 20, 2011