Square & Compass Square & Compass

Medford Valley of Scottish Rite
Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry

The Scottish Rite Degrees

The American Scottish Rite is a collection of degrees that build upon the legends of the Blue Lodge. The rite offers a total of 30 degrees beyond 3° Master Mason. The names of the degrees vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction, as sometimes do the dramatic contents. However, what is constant is the idea of progressive ethical awareness and self-knowledge through self-reflection and dramatic allegories.

The Scottish Rite degrees give insight to the expansion of Masonic legends. The Lodge of Perfection, 4° through 14°, is concerned with events following the murder of Hiram Abiff: burying him; capturing and punishing his murderers; finding a new master builder; and discovering treasurers buried under King Solomon's temple. The 15° and 16° explain the return of Zerubbabel from Babylon to rebuild the temple at Jerusalem. The 17° and 18° center around re-instituting the word under the Law of Love as taught by Jesus and other religious reformers. The 19° through 30° culminate with the Degree of Knight Kadosh, a spiritual knighthood similar to the Knight Templar, and develop the Scottish Rite's myth of Masonic succession from crusading knights. In the 32°, Master of the Royal Secret, the candidate is taught equilibrium in the Southern Jurisdiction and fidelity in the Northern Masonic Jurisdiction.

To Contact Us:

Medford Valley of Scottish Rite
3581 Lear Way
Medford, Oregon 97501
(541) 772-2205

The Supreme Council, 33°
1733 16th St. NW
Washington, D.C. 20009
(202) 232-3579
Supreme Council of Scottish Rite

Page created by: Rogue Valley Webmaster
Changes last made on: July 20, 2011